Young Professionals

Introduction - 6 years of LF experience

• 1.  Introduction - 6 years of LF experience

Posted 03-03-2017 10:53 AM

Hi, I just joined SWANA.  I saw that there was no Michigan chapter, but decided to try out the organization and see what it offers.  

I started out with landfills while I was still in college where I performed CQA at landfills (on co-op) while I was majoring in Environmental Engineering at Michigan Technological University.  I spend an adventurous 11 months at one landfill in particular which made me feel like landfills were my second home.  After I graduated, I went to an environmental consulting firm that specialized in services for municipal solid waste landfills.  I spent time doing more field work (CQA, sampling, troxler, etc) and some autocad.  For my next job, I spent 3 years at a hazardous waste landfill as a project engineer- getting involved in everything from landfill temporary caps, leachate forcemain/extraction wells,  stormwater conveyance systems, asphalt, and building facilities projects.  It is surprising how much one can learn when involved in the operations team at a landfill.  Now I am back at a consulting firm, learning abut the other side of landfill engineering- slope stability and other geotechnical considerations of landfill design.

I have already learned some new things by looking through the forums in the Landfill Management technical division.  I hope to be more involved in the forums and webinars and take advantage of networking opportunities.

------------------------------
    Amy Minner
    CTI & Associates, Inc.
    Staff Engineer
    Novi MI

• 2.  RE: Introduction - 6 years of LF experience

Posted 03-06-2017 03:07 PM
    Hi Amy,